top of page

Kevin "Caveman" Bartlett, Enewetak Atoll (1978) Glimmer of Lights


Introducing a series of narrative articles about the Atomic Cleanup Veterans of Enewetak Atoll.


The following are first-hand accounts told by the relatively few survivors of the Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission, Marshall Islands; a mission that took place between 1977-1980. Their stories appear here as told to T-M Fitzgerald (published author, veteran, veteran advocate) because theirs are tales needing to be told.



Introduction: “Where in the World is Enewetak?”


Enewetak is just one of many atolls and islands in the Pacific Ocean’s Marshall Island chain. Located about 2,365 nautical miles SW of Hawaii (just north of the equator), the Marshall Islands were once a major testing ground for nuclear weapons post WWII. This island chain is also home to the project called Cactus Dome, a 350’ wide blast crater located at the northern end of Runit Island that has become known as the ‘Nuclear Trashcan of the Pacific."


Between 1948-58, forty-three nuclear weapons were detonated over Enewetak and its sister islands. Among these tests were ‘Ivy Mike’ and ‘Castle Bravo’ (a device 1000X as powerful as the bomb ‘Little Boy’ which was dropped on Hiroshima, Japan post Pearl Harbor.)


In 1977, a coalition of United States military forces and civilian support teams were sanctioned to ‘clean’ the islands of residual radioactive fallout. Men, many who were mere teenagers back in the day, were tasked with cleaning the contaminated fallout from the nuclear testing that occurred throughout the previous three decades. Keep in mind, that as recent as 2012, the United Nations reported that the cumulative effects from all that nuclear testing had effectively caused near-irreversible environmental contamination. There was a problem beginning in 1977 and currently, effects from that exposure have begun to manifest, taking toll on many surviving Enewetak vets and contractors today. Four decades later, survivors are telling their stories because the world needs to know.


Personal story by Kevin "Caveman" Bartlett


Branch:US Army MOS:12B10, Combat Engineer Location: Lojwa Basecamp Year: Sep.1978-Feb. 1979


Quote: “I just assumed for all these years that since our government had sent us there to do what we did, then that is must have been safe like they told us…”


“I am but one of a few of the survivors of the 1977-1980 Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission that took place in the Marshall Islands.


A major focus of this group has been to help one another with information and moral support during some of the challenging times we’ve encountered following our time in service at Enewetak.


A secondary focus/goal is to urge Congress to change current law and recognize Cold War Era soldiers of the Enewetak Cleanup Mission as “veterans who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


By obtaining their second goal, individuals experiencing health complications resulting from radiation exposure at Enewetak Atoll will be eligible to apply for funds that have previously been set-aside for other Atomic Veterans who have already been recognized and acknowledged for their service.


“When I first found out I was going to the Marshall Islands and Enewetak, I really didn’t know what to expect. I had known a few other guys from my unit who’d been down there and I remember them saying it was pretty cool. They were still looking for volunteers to go and I had about eight months left to my enlistment so I said, ‘Why not?’ I didn't know much about the location or the job I might be doing.


“I was a Combat Engineer but there was no active combat taking place on Enewetak. As a matter of fact, my first assignment was on a rock crusher. For the next four months, I was working on the reef with a rock driller, drilling holes on Mondays and Tuesdays then setting explosives for det-cord work on Wednesday. Wednesdays were good days because everything had been all set up and rigged to blow on a timer. After we left the island for the day, we’d have the rest of the afternoon off back on Lojwa. Thursdays and Fridays were the same routine and Saturdays were just like Wednesdays.”


“The type of protective gear we’d wear depended on where we worked. Most of the time, we just wore Jungle boots, socks, cutoffs, and maybe a headband. If I had to go on the hot-side (radioactive) of Runit, I’d have to put on rubber booties with duct-tape and use a dust mask. That was about the extent of protective gear that anybody used.” Giving some more thought to the matter, Mr. Bartlett added the following. “Maybe I should mention that there was this one time when I was assigned to do some rock drilling over on Sally (next door to Lojwa) so I could be filmed for what I believe was some sort of training production. I had to work in the whole banana suit and respirator get-up for a couple hours. I remember thinking it was interesting that the only time I was fully decked out in what at the time was considered their state-of-the-art protective clothing, was the time I was being filmed.”


“Even though I served back in the 1970’s and 80’s, it wasn’t until a few years ago I started learning that something might not have been quite right down there on Enewetak. I had a moment of curiosity where I wondered whatever became of the Marshall Islands so I started Googling up stuff. I found the Enewetak Atomic Cleanup Veterans group on Facebook and started reading some of the stories about what was happening and going on with the other guys. I just assumed for all these years that since our government had sent us there to do what we did, then that is must have been safe like they told us.”


Knowing what I know now and what I’ve learned from the others, I still would have gone to Enewetak. But I would’ve done a better job in keeping track of things like my records, important papers and would have taken a lot more pictures. I personally don't feel used because I don't believe the government better track of things like keeping records, saving papers and would have taken a lot more pictures. I personally don't feel used because I don't believe the government “I don't really know why I felt the need to share my experiences on The Rock. Due to my faith in God, I am not too shy about sharing testimony, especially if I really knew what they were doing themselves or what the long term effects were inevitably going to be for all of us. If I were sick or were to get sick, God forbid, then I might change my mind on that but so far so good health wise.”


The primary focus for this group is to urge Congress to change legislation and recognize soldiers of this seemingly forgotten cleanup mission as “veterans who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page