top of page

Alan Leeman, Enewetak Atoll (1978-79) Glimmer of Lights


Introducing a series of narrative articles about the Atomic Cleanup Veterans of Enewetak Atoll.


The following are first-hand accounts told by the relatively few survivors of the Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission, Marshall Islands; a mission that took place between 1977-1980. Their stories appear here as told to T-M Fitzgerald (published author, veteran, veteran advocate) because theirs are tales needing to be told.


Read - H.R. 5980: Mark Takai Atomic Veterans Healthcare Parity Act


Introduction: “Where in the World is Enewetak?”




Enewetak is just one of many atolls and islands in the south Pacific’s Marshall Island chain. Located about 2,365 nautical miles SW of Hawaii (just north of the equator), the Marshall Islands were once a major testing ground for nuclear weapons post WWII. This island chain is also home to the project called Cactus Dome, a 350’ wide blast crater located at the northern end of Runit Island that has become known as the ‘Nuclear Trashcan of the Pacific.’


Between 1948-58, forty-three nuclear weapons were detonated over Enewetak and its sister islands. Among these tests were ‘Ivy Mike’ and ‘Castle Bravo’ (a device 1000X as powerful as the bomb ‘Little Boy’ which was dropped on Hiroshima, Japan post Pearl Harbor.)


In 1977, a coalition of United States military forces was sanctioned to ‘clean’ the islands of residual radioactive fallout. Men, many who were mere teenagers back in the day, were tasked with cleaning the contaminated fallout from the nuclear testing that occurred throughout the previous three decades. Keep in mind, that as recent as 2012, the United Nations reported that the cumulative effects from all that nuclear testing had effectively caused near-irreversible environmental contamination.


There was a problem beginning in 1977 and currently, effects from that exposure have begun to manifest, taking toll on many surviving Enewetak vets today. Four decades later, survivors are telling their stories because the world needs to know.


Personal story by Alan Leeman


Branch: Army MOS: 62H10 Location: Runit Glow-By-Nighter Year: 1977-1978




Quote: “I want the world to know we were there. We must get HR 3870 - S2791 passed. This is the only thing that will help us.”


“I am but one of a few of the survivors of the 1977-1980 Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission that took place in the Marshall Islands.


A major focus of this group has been to help one another with information and moral support during some of the challenging times we’ve encountered following our time in service at Enewetak.


A secondary focus/goal is to urge Congress to change current law and recognize Cold War Era soldiers and contractors of the Enewetak Cleanup Mission as “veterans and workers who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


By obtaining their second goal, individuals experiencing health complications resulting from radiation exposure at Enewetak Atoll will be eligible to apply for funds that have previously been set-aside for other Atomic Veterans who have already been recognized and acknowledged for their service."


Viewpoint: “I am but one of a few of the survivors of the 1977-1980 Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission that took place in the Marshall Islands. A major focus of this group has been to help one another with information and moral support during some of the challenging times we’ve encountered following our time in service at Enewetak.


A secondary focus/goal is to urge Congress to change current law and recognize Cold War Era soldiers and contractors of the Enewetak Cleanup Mission as “veterans and workers who participated in radiation risk activities during active service.”

By obtaining their second goal, individuals experiencing health complications resulting from radiation exposure at Enewetak Atoll will be eligible to apply for funds that have previously been set-aside for other Atomic Veterans who have already been recognized and acknowledged for their service.


The primary focus for this group is to urge Congress to change legislation and recognize soldiers of this forgotten cleanup mission as “veterans who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


“I was initially stationed at Schofield Barracks over in Hawaii. We attended a briefing and were informed that we had to work a cleanup mission over in Enewetak. They disclosed what had happened there previously (i.e. numerous atomic bomb tests) and we were told that the mission would take a total of about three years. (Of course, we only served six-month stints at a time.) We’d be removing and cleaning debris and whatnot and hauling it all over to Cactus Crater (what would become ‘The Dome’) on Runit. We questioned our safety but were immediately told that we’d have the proper everything we needed: radiation suits, film badges, masks, you name it.”


“Once I got to Runit, my job usually entailed blasting coral reefs to make aggregate for cement. We set up our storage buildings, the rock crushers, etc. but we also had to clear the area of vegetation. I was out there dozing all over the island from the tower to the crater without any kind of radiation or Hazmat suit; just a paper mask. I was usually out on the reef during low tide, blasting stockpiles of aggregate to make cement.”


“As far as describing what we saw when we first arrived, know this. When they exploded Ivy Mike back in the fifties, (November 01, 1952), I think pretty much everything that was there got blown away. That’s basically what made Cactus Crater. There wasn’t a whole lot to look at.”


“As soon as we stepped foot on Runit, I knew something wasn’t right. I saw all the old bunkers, the sites of old houses and all this debris lying in the water. When I actually got to go down to the crater, it was unbelievable. When we were over in Enewetak, everything looked just so. Then we took the boat over to Lowja and reality sank in. I’d thought the Marshall Islands were a beautiful place when we were passing all the different islands but when we got over to Runit, it was a whole different story. I just got this very eerie feeling.”


“During my tour at Enewetak, I knew I needed to get a camera. I mean, that was the best way I knew to document my experience in the Marshall Islands. Keep in mind; this was before cell phones and instant cameras. I used the old 35mm film, the stuff you had to load and wind into the camera by hand. Interestingly enough, I never had any trouble getting my film exposed. The mail plane would come once or twice a week to Enewetak and I’d send my film out, pick up my pictures when they came back.”


“I want the world to know we were there; Runit. The government occasionally acknowledges that we might have been there but as far as protective or safety gear? Sure, some of us had film badges but once they got wet, they didn’t work. In the heat and humidity of those islands, you can imagine how dry the badges stayed. We were also told that half the island was safe and half was not. I never could believe how half could be safe and half could not be.”


“We were stationed out there for six months at a time. In our debriefings back at Schofield in Hawaii, we were told not to discuss the cleanup project we had been on with anybody. That’s when I received my record of occupational exposure to ionizing radiation. I was told I’d received too much radiation but not to worry; I wouldn’t start feeling any effects until I was in my fifties. Currently, I can’t get copies of any of my previous medical records from the VA but fortunately for me, I kept my own copies of records from the start.”


“When I enlisted in the military back in the 70’s, service was voluntary. We were able to pick our duty stations when we enlisted and so I chose to go to Hawaii. You aren’t always guaranteed to get the place you pick but I was fortunate and they gave me Schofield. Per my enlistment contract, I was guaranteed to be stationed in Hawaii for 36 months. They violated my contract when they sent me to Enewetak, so when it came time for me to re-up, I opted for discharge.”


“We must get HR 3870 (the Healthcare Parity Act) passed. This is the only thing that will help those of us who did time in the islands. I don’t know how we’re going to get it through, but we have to do it. Obama has been in office for two terms. I’m sure he knows about us Enewetak vets and I think if we can get HR 3870 in front of him before he leaves office, we might have a chance.”


The primary focus for this group is to urge Congress to change legislation and recognize soldiers of this seemingly forgotten cleanup mission as “veterans who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page