top of page

Vincent French Enewetak Atoll (1978) Glimmer of Lights


Introducing a series of narrative articles about the Atomic Cleanup Veterans of Enewetak Atoll.


The following are first-hand accounts told by comparatively few survivors of the Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission, Marshall Islands; a mission that took place from 1977-1980. Their stories appear as told to T-M Fitzgerald(published author, veteran, veteran advocate) because theirs are tales needing to be known.



Introduction: “Where in the World is Enewetak?


Enewetak is just one of many atolls and islands in the Pacific Ocean’s Marshall Island chain. Located about 2,365 nautical miles SW of Hawaii (just north of the equator), the Marshall Islands were once a major testing ground for nuclear weapons post WWII. This island chain is also home to the project called Cactus Dome, a 350’- wide blast crater located at the northern end of Runit Island that has become known as the ‘Nuclear Trashcan of the Pacific.’


Between 1948-58, forty-three nuclear weapons were detonated over Enewetak and its sister islands. Among these tests were ‘Ivy Mike’ and ‘Castle Bravo’ (a device 1000X as powerful as the bomb ‘Little Boy’ which was dropped on Hiroshima, Japan post Pearl Harbor.)


In 1977, a coalition of United States military forces and civilian support teams were sanctioned to ‘clean’ the islands of residual radioactive fallout. Men, many who were mere teenagers back in the day, were tasked with cleaning the contaminated fallout from the nuclear testing that occurred throughout the previous three decades. Keep in mind, that as recent as 2012, the United Nations reported that the cumulative effects from all that nuclear testing had effectively caused near-irreversible environmental contamination. There was a problem beginning in 1977 and currently, effects from that exposure have begun to manifest, taking toll on many surviving Enewetak vets and contractors today. Four decades later, survivors are telling their stories because the world needs to know.


Personal story by Vincent French


Branch: Air Force AFSC: 907 Environ. Engineer Location: Lojwa Year: 1978


Quote: “I was trained in nuclear warfare; I knew what the dangers were going in… a lot of guys had no clue…”


“I am but one of a few of the survivors of the 1977-1980 Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission that took place in the Marshall Islands.


A major focus of this group has been to help one another with information and moral support during some of the challenging times we’ve encountered following our time in service at Enewetak.


A secondary focus/goal is to urge Congress to change current law and recognize Cold War Era soldiers and contractors of the Enewetak Cleanup Mission as “veterans and workers who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


By obtaining their second goal, individuals experiencing health complications resulting from radiation exposure at Enewetak Atoll will be eligible to apply for funds that have previously been set-aside for other Atomic Veterans who have already been recognized and acknowledged for their service."


“What did I know about the mission or the location before going down there? I already had a background in radiation so I had a little more knowledge about things. When I completed my TDY in Okinawa, my existing duty station didn’t need me so off to Enewetak I went. I’d never heard about the Marshall Islands before serving there, I mean, I knew about nuclear testing that had taken place on Bikini and back in Nevada, but that was about all I knew. I’d been in Okinawa on TDY and the day I returned from there, I was ‘voluntold’ to go to Enewetak.”


“We all had nicknames while we were down there so it’s been hard to remember the given names of a lot of the guys I served with. Nobody ever wore uniforms while we were there because it was too damn hot. I think that was part of it all, too that it was quite by design none of us kept contact with one another. That was part of why I got out when I did. I enjoyed being in the military but I just didn’t want to risk being sent to another location like Enewetak again. I enjoyed my time there but there were just some risks I really didn’t want to take. I’ve managed to reconnect with one of my guys from back in the day though since joining the Facebook page: Roger Yearwood.”


“I ran what they called ‘The Hot Line’ when we were working on one of the really hot (radioactive) islands. Sometimes we had to suit up in the yellow banana suits. When the guys came back to base after coming off the islands, I’d have to check them over for radiation. Another part of my job while I was down there was running an air sampler. It was actually a blower run by a nine horsepower motor that we’d reversed. We’d suck air through that thing 24/7 and it’d collect samples on a circular filter. We’d take that, fold it up into 4 pieces and put it in an aluminum envelope and send it to the Defense Nuclear Agency (DNA). (WE never received results back from any of those tests, either by the way.) As far as any protective equipment, nobody ever wore anything. When I first arrived, we had a few dosimeters but they told us there was nothing to worry about.”


“I knew going in that there were going to be radiological issues. I decided the day I set foot on Enewetak that I was never going to have any children. I mean, I knew about the effects of ionizing radiation and potential exposures; that was my job. I knew going in. The government had a whole system of deception going on. When I first got there, we literally had to get on our hands and knees searching for radiation (plutonium). Alpha radiation only travels about 3cm and when plutonium deteriorates, it becomes (among other things) Americium 241, a gamma emitter. We had a gamma detector at the top of a boom that would take measurements for us. They never told us anything but obviously, when you are out there looking for plutonium on your hands and knees, it can’t mean good things.”


“When I was in college, I’d obtained a degree in environmental philosophy. I’d given a few lectures to classes about Enewetak so I knew about the people and the culture of the Marshall Islands. I’ve always thought the world should know about Enewetak. It angers me because I don’t think you can clean up something like that, but I thought it was the right thing to do, us going down there and attempting to restore what once was. We shouldn’t have blown up those peoples home in the first place. I understand the thoughts behind it but there were better ways.”


“I think we as countries should do these things more responsibly. It’s illegal to use humans as guinea pigs in any endeavor but there we were. We were men who’d volunteered to fight for our country, we never chose to be guinea pigs for somebody’s entertainment. We as a country need to take care of all veterans who’ve been damaged due to their service, and I’m not talking just about physical damage. Some of these folks need more help.”


“Why nobody hasn’t been tracking us to get an idea of what the effects of ionizing radiation are, well I believe the only reason as to why they haven’t is that they’re trying to sweep all of this under the rug. I’m doing good so far, but I had a duodenal ulcer back when I was 24. There was no reason I should have had one at that age. I’m convinced it had something to do with the radiation we were exposed to. I was treated and haven’t had any trouble since but it’s always in the back of my mind.”


“I enjoyed my time there. It was just a really great group of guys. I’d have rather not been there but I’m proud of the fact that I served, proud that I went. It shames our government that they used us as guinea pigs. I was trained in nuclear warfare; I knew what the dangers were going in. A lot of guys had no clue and were given no warning. I think if the Feds had been following up on us this whole time, there might not be all these things happening. I’ve been lucky, I’m the out layer. A lot of these guys haven’t been so fortunate when it comes to matters of their health. There needs to be recognition.”


"The primary focus for this group is to urge Congress to change legislation and recognize soldiers of this seemingly forgotten cleanup mission as “veterans who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page