top of page

Joe Szwerluga, Enewetak Atoll (1977) Glimmers of Light


Introducing a series of narrative articles about the Atomic Cleanup Veterans of Enewetak Atoll.


The following are first-hand accounts told by comparatively few survivors of the Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission, Marshall Islands; a mission that took place from 1977-1980. Their stories appear as told to T-M Fitzgerald(published author, veteran, veteran advocate) because theirs are tales needing to be known.



Introduction: “Where in the World is Enewetak?


Enewetak is just one of many atolls and islands in the Pacific Ocean’s Marshall Island chain. Located about 2,365 nautical miles SW of Hawaii (just north of the equator), the Marshall Islands were once a major testing ground for nuclear weapons post WWII. This island chain is also home to the project called Cactus Dome, a 350’- wide blast crater located at the northern end of Runit Island that has become known as the ‘Nuclear Trashcan of the Pacific.’


Between 1948-58, forty-three nuclear weapons were detonated over Enewetak and its sister islands. Among these tests were ‘Ivy Mike’ and ‘Castle Bravo’ (a device 1000X as powerful as the bomb ‘Little Boy’ which was dropped on Hiroshima, Japan post Pearl Harbor.)


In 1977, a coalition of United States military forces and civilian support teams were sanctioned to ‘clean’ the islands of residual radioactive fallout. Men, many who were mere teenagers back in the day, were tasked with cleaning the contaminated fallout from the nuclear testing that occurred throughout the previous three decades. Keep in mind, that as recent as 2012, the United Nations reported that the cumulative effects from all that nuclear testing had effectively caused near-irreversible environmental contamination. There was a problem beginning in 1977 and currently, effects from that exposure have begun to manifest, taking toll on many surviving Enewetak vets and contractors today. Four decades later, survivors are telling their stories because the world needs to know.


Personal Story by Joe Szwerluga

Branch: Air Force Mstr Sgt AFSC: Disaster Preparedness Spvr. Location: Enewetak Year: 1977


Quote: “The Marshall Islands was an assignment I am proud to have been a part of.”


“I am but one of a few of the survivors of the 1977-1980 Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission that took place in the Marshall Islands.


A major focus of this group has been to help one another with information and moral support during some of the challenging times we’ve encountered following our time in service at Enewetak.


A secondary focus/goal is to urge Congress to change current law and recognize Cold War Era soldiers and contractors of the Enewetak Cleanup Mission as “veterans and workers who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


By obtaining their second goal, individuals experiencing health complications resulting from radiation exposure at Enewetak Atoll will be eligible to apply for funds that have previously been set-aside for other Atomic Veterans who have already been recognized and acknowledged for their service."


“I was tasked to deploy to the atoll of Enewetak in June of 1977 to replace one SSgt John Ward (who’d returned stateside due to an emergency.) I’d heard about the test sites on Bikini and some of the other atolls, but had never heard of Enewetak. However, in preparing for my deployment, I went to the base library and researched as much information as I could find about the atoll. I was assigned to the first Air Force (AF) Field Radiological Survey Team, (FRST), commanded by Maj. Harold Rumzek.”


“Upon arrival, I was greeted by my AF management staff and taken to my billet. Billeting consisted of a tin barracks with an open bay divided by lockers. It had an open window air-conditioning system and was located at the north end of island. (I didn’t think things could possibly get any worse until I went to Lojwa. I’d been at the Waldorf in comparison. At least we’d had plumbing and power back on Enewetak.) I was issued BDUs, a radiation detection dosimetry badge, (which, if I remember correctly was read daily), and a plastic jug for daily urine specimens.”


“Depending on our mission of the day, we were issued protective clothing every time we entered the “hot zone.” (First readings on the RADIAC equipment recognized first hazards). Our equipment consisted of yellow (bic banana), suits, hoods, booties, and protective masks that were air conditioned, (if the batteries were charged). Those masks drained very quickly, however, but would still be usable without a/c. As you can imagine, they were very hot. Maj. Rumzek was a good commander and he ensured that we were always well protected. He ordered & demanded that his personnel be properly protected from all possible hazards and exposures, including sun stroke. Air Force were required to wear uniforms IAW AFR 35-10 going to and from mission sites.”


“The Air Force mission was to grid, monitor, identify, mark and set up exit hot lines for decontamination. After this task was complete, the Army took over and removed contaminated waste, soil and vegetation from the designated areas. Not only was radiation a concern, but there was a lot of unusual insects, and a rat population to contend with. On one island, there was an infestation of bees and wasp nests created havoc for the workers. (I’m not aware of any snake issues.)”


“I became team leader after two weeks. The original team leader was TSgt Hutchinson but he assigned me his team because the powers that be wanted him to take the task of daily administrative work. I worked with Army E6 Schwartz out of Scofield Barracks over in Hawaii and he and I ran the team together.”


“Toward the end of the assignment, management wisely decided that the replacement FRST Team needed to be billeted on Lojwa since the majority of our work was closer and easier to get to from there. By this time, billeting was available for the Air Force field personnel. Our teams were doing more “over nighters” on Lojwa by this point. We were assigned to barracks that had nothing. We had community outdoor outhouses, used water buffalos for washing and shaving and outdoor showers with “rain bucket water catchers” that produced hot or cold water dependent on whether if it was a hot and sunny or not so hot and cloudy day.”


(Quoting Tim Snider: “A joint briefing was held with a multitask force; Navy, Army, Marines, and Air Force. The lead briefing instructor asked, “What would you do if a scorpion was in your tent?” The Navy Seaman said, “I'd step on it.” The Army soldier said, “I'd hit it with the butt of my gun.” The Marine jumped to attention and stated that he would grab it, rip its tail off and chew it up. Then the three services looked at the Airman. After a long pause, he answered, “Well, I’d call the operator, have room service remove the tent from my room, and order lunch.....”)


“The first Air Force crew had scrounged materials to build a miniature golf course out behind the barracks. They also scrounged enough wood to build a bar and the best picnic patio with a well-stocked refrigerator. We had many visitors stop by (including command staff) who were all welcome to party. Sundays were normally the one day we all had off and it gave our teams a chance to relax and let our hair down. It was a real morale booster. Of course, this was all happening on Enewetak. The personnel on Lojwa didn’t have these luxuries, and when the first FRST left, all new-comers were sent to Lowja for billeting. Knowing Air Force personnel, they probably scrounged whatever they needed to make life easier and maintained high morale.”


“Over the years during any normal illnesses I acquired, I don’t think I ever paid any extra attention to the fact that I had been on Enewetak. I’ve had no symptoms or unexplained illnesses and overall, I’m a pretty healthy guy. I was close to radiation sources throughout the entire period of time. When I started reading the Facebook page of “Enewetak Atoll Clean-up Project Vets” and about what all my fellow vets were exposed to, (particularly the Runit crews) I was shocked, disgusted and pissed off that these guys are being totally ignored and aren’t getting needed attention that other “war vets” receive today. I didn’t realize how much damage the Enewetak vets had inflicted upon them.”


“I’m 72-years-old and haven’t experienced any cancers save for a small bout with colon cancer this past year which I attributed to my age. As far as skin cancer, I’ve never had to deal with any. Because of my AFSC, (DOS, Army talk was Disaster Preparedness, NBC instructor), I knew the hazards going in, and we suspected what was going to be there. Of course, the fact that there’d been multiple nuclear explosions, we knew there was going to be radioactive residue. Evidently, people had the idea that the cleanup effort was going to work. We’d found small amount alpha contaminant on Pearl, but basically all we did was identify and mark it.”


“The Marshall Islands was an assignment I am proud to have been a part of. At the time, I felt I was really a part of something humanitarian. Personnel came from all different branches of the military. Even with all of the contractors and civilians out there, we were all brothers performing a common task. Everybody worked in harmony.”


“I’m healthy myself, but many of my Enewetak brothers are getting sick. These men should be getting medical assistance and other benefits they are entitled to, the same that all other veterans who have served receive. These men were soldiers not unlike the soldiers of today. I’m a military retiree, so I have benefits. Personnel who decided to leave the military after doing their commitment don’t have that. It’s one of those things that needs to be changed. I think of all the illegal immigrants who get such benefits and wonder why we can’t take of own veterans who’ve served this country and earned it.”


“I wish all my Enewetak Brothers the best, and I hope these interviews help them get the benefits they need. (Are the powers that be waiting for us all to die off before they acknowledge our service and needs?) As far as my own tour in the Marshall Islands goes, I can say that I enjoyed the adventure, even without the comforts of home and having to tolerate the rats, coconut crabs, bee’s & other insects. It was an honor to serve with you all.” And, for my just reward when I returned to my home station, I received orders for Ankara, Turkey and six months later a fellow Enewetak brother got the same orders.”


"The primary focus for this group is to urge Congress to change legislation and recognize soldiers of this seemingly forgotten cleanup mission as “veterans who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page