top of page

Paul Laird, Enewetak Atoll (1977) Glimmer of Lights


Introducing a series of narrative articles about the Atomic Cleanup Veterans of Enewetak Atoll.


The following are first-hand accounts told by the relatively few survivors of the Enewetak Atoll Atomic Debris Cleanup Mission, Marshall Islands; a mission that took place between 1977-1980. Their stories appear here as told to T-M Fitzgerald (published author, veteran, veteran advocate) because theirs are tales needing to be told.



Introduction: “Where in the World is Enewetak?”


Enewetak is just one of many atolls and islands in the south Pacific’s Marshall Island chain. Located about 2,365 nautical miles SW of Hawaii (just north of the equator), the Marshall Islands were once a major testing ground for nuclear weapons post WWII. This island chain is also home to the project called Cactus Dome, a 350’ wide blast crater located at the northern end of Runit Island that has become known as the ‘Nuclear Trashcan of the Pacific.’


Between 1948-58, forty-three nuclear weapons were detonated over Enewetak and its sister islands. Among these tests were ‘Ivy Mike’ and ‘Castle Bravo’ (a device 1000X as powerful as the bomb ‘Little Boy’ which was dropped on Hiroshima, Japan post Pearl Harbor.)


In 1977, a coalition of United States military forces was sanctioned to ‘clean’ the islands of residual radioactive fallout. Men, many who were mere teenagers back in the day, were tasked with cleaning the contaminated fallout from the nuclear testing that occurred throughout the previous three decades. Keep in mind, that as recent as 2012, the United Nations reported that the cumulative effects from all that nuclear testing had effectively caused near-irreversible environmental contamination. There was a problem beginning in 1977 and currently, effects from that exposure have begun to manifest, taking toll on many surviving Enewetak vets today. Four decades later, survivors are telling their stories because the world needs to know.


Personal story by Girard Frank Bolton III


Branch: US Army MOS: 62E Location: Lojwa Year: 1977


Quote: “It’s time for our government to step up to the plate and admit what they did to us and everybody involved.”


“”This whole deal is bigger than just us.”


“I was a short-timer and wasn’t originally supposed to go down to Enewetak. I was ETS’ing (expiration of term of service) in February of 1978 but I extended by six months. I decided to get married and brought my wife out to Hawaii but then I pissed off a sergeant and was shipped down to Enewetak. I had to leave my wife in Hawaii all by herself.”


“Somewhere along the line, before we got shipped out, we were shown a film that showed the actual bombs being detonated from back in the day. They explained about radiation and told us a little about plutonium and its side effects. Other than that, they never really elaborated, never went into any further detail. They did talk a little bit about suits and wrapping our boots and all but when I got to Lojwa, it wasn’t anything like that. It couldn’t be. I mean, we were sitting pretty much on top of the equator. The safety gear wasn’t compatible with the environment. Our uniforms out there were cut-off fatigues, maybe a t-shirt and boots. That was it.”


“I asked myself on more than one occasion ‘What are we doing?’ I remember one time when a group of brass that came down to our site. Our lieutenant was there like the rest of us but some high ranking official came out there in full Hazmat gear inclusive of respirator and everything. There I was, clearing the land, dumping the loaders all the while covered in dust with no protective gear on whatsoever. We were taking cold, salt water showers at the end of the day with water they were getting with the bucket loader from the ocean. No fresh water. No desalinization plant. Not even a mess hall at that point. That was the kind of environment we were working in every day. And for food? This was the 70’s; we ate C-rations. I don’t remember any of that other food the other guys are talking about. We ate regular Army slop; mothing fancy.”


“I didn’t think we were being put in a good spot right from the start. I just had this gut feeling that we really shouldn’t have been there. We knew they were pushing the envelope about the time and depletion time of isotopes/contaminants. We were all young and thought we’d be just fine.” Paul paused. “It certainly was an experience; one of the most beautiful spots on earth and such a shame what is like today.”


What made you connect with the Facebook group? – I’ve developed all these different health problems; diabetes, hypertension, cancer…all of that came on pretty much all at once. I was very lucky. I started showing blood where it wasn’t supposed to be showing and that’s how my cancer was discovered. At that point, I started thinking and wondering about Enewetak again. I Googled and found the Enewetak Atomic Cleanup Veterans website the guys had set up about Enewetak. At that point, there were only about 35 of us out of the thousands that had been down there.” Paul paused in thought one more time. “You know, I know guys who were stationed with me, in my group who have since died from different cancers.”


"What would I tell the world about my experiences on Enewetak? That it was a big mistake. Certain groups are getting compensation for their work and exposure to radiation like we were all exposed to but for whatever reason, the powers that be choose to ignore our group? You know, when we went down there, it was supposed to be this great humanitarian mission. I thought we were doing a great thing down there.”


“I’ve read up on some things about the Marshall Islands. There’s still cesium 137 (a very dangerous product of nuclear fission) in the roots of trees down there. So what were we playing in back then just 20-30 years after they were still doing nuclear testing? It is an ongoing process. ‘What’s next?’ We live with that every day. At any given time, some disease process could start that could take your life…”


“I considered myself in excellent shape for a man my age but now my body is failing. I’m starting to notice things. Take this for example. When I sit still for 15-20 minutes then go to move again, everything feels like it’s all locked up. I asked my doctor one time if this was common. His answer? ‘Yes, if you’re 85.’”


“I’ve developed diabetes and battle that on a daily basis. I take insulin four times a day. I’m constantly going through scopes for cancers in my bladder. (I’ve had three different kinds.) My urologist says this just doesn’t happen. If it does, it’s very, very rare. There are a lot of things that lead me to believe I’m suffering these health issues due to the time I spent in Enewetak. It is what it is I guess. I enjoy life too much to get all down about it.”


“I almost died after the kidney surgery I had to have. I ended up with a renal bleed six weeks after the fact that nobody would listen to me about. I’d had surgery and recovered and it was on my first day back at work. I was walking around doing something and suddenly it felt like I had this big water balloon inside me. So I just sucked it up and went along with my business. Right after lunch, I knew something wasn’t quite right. I ended up going to the hospital. Two different facilities wouldn’t believe me. Through a very drawn out process and about twelve hours after it all began, they finally scanned me and took care of the issue. It was really bad. I was that close. It wasn’t pretty when nobody would listen, but I’m still here and going strong.”


“The thing that bothers me the most is the fact that my time on Enewetak and down in the islands in general may have affected my sons, and their children. This is something that will continue to be passed on…”


The primary focus for this group is to urge Congress to change legislation and recognize soldiers of this seemingly forgotten cleanup mission as “veterans who participated in radiation-risk activities during active service.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page